Posted in Cooking for One 1/12, Glorious Food

Cooking for One 1/12- Baked Barramundi

bake-barramundi-3-mammals

The first time I had barramundi was in Australia. The Chinese restaurant steamed it with ginger, soy sauce, green onion and salt. The fat from barramundi melted into soy sauce and gave it that unami taste. It tasted so good on top of jasmine rice.
Barramundi, or Asian Sea Bass, is found primarily in South- East Asia, Papua New Guinea and Northern Australia. Its flavour mild, its meat tender, making it a very versatile dish. Every region has their own take. With quite a bit of fat under the skin, it’s very forgiving
when overcooked.

I haven’t seen many places serving barramundi in North America. So imagine my delight when I was wandering in Whole Food and saw barramundi on sale. It was previously frozen and defrosted. I immediately thought.. Hey, maybe Chubby would like this.

I baked the fillet at 400F for about 15 minutes and cut into 5″ pieces and keep frozen. When it’s time to give him a little treat, take out and thaw. Serve with a little peppermint leaf, good for digestion : P

 

Chubby Chew: Human, I do not appreciate you not cutting the fish up for me
Human: You call yourself a cat? What would you do if you were in the wild and caught a fish? Oh wait, you are too lazy to hunt for fish.
Chubby Chew: This is highly annoying. This fish is too heavy for me to pick up.
Human: Arh you get the carpet all dirty. Use the plate!
Chubby Chew: I have very little jaw strength. Cut it up for me!
Human: Fine fine…

Author:

A pet mama new to the world of social media. Figuring out how to make a website as I go, talking excessively about my pets that probably fascinates me but bores everyone else ; P

Leave a Reply

