Posted in Glorious Food, Recipes

Decadent Breakfast Hot Chocolate

Once in a while, you gotta treat yourself to hot chocolate.

On a random Thursday morning with no pressing appointments, I decided to try out this recipes from Parks Canada’s Heritage Gourmet Recipe.

Embark on a culinary journey through Canada’s rich history and across Canada’s vast territory by trying out the recipes – which have been updated for modern cooks

I am sucker for nostalgic recipes. It always intrigues me what people in the past eat and what they taste like. I guess part of it is when I read books with any historic bent that describes the scrumptious feast really makes my mouth water with imagination.

In this day and age when food resources are readily available, it’s hard to imagine that hot chocolate is consumed only by the elite. According to the site, this recipe dates back to the 18th century, originated from Nova Scotia, is still being served at the Gramdchamp Inn, which also offers a chocolate menu. Unfortunately it may be awhile before I can make my way to Nova Scotia due to present obligations. Until then, I am enjoying this rich, creamy decadent hot chocolate!

French Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz | 30 g good quality chocolate bars or ground chocolate
  • 1 cup | 250 ml water or milk
  • 1 tsp | 5 g sugar
  • spices and flavourings to taste (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, vanilla, orange flower water)
  • egg yolk (optional)

Directions:

  • Heat the liquid and, if using milk, don’t let it boil. Grate the chocolate if it is not ground and melt it into the liquid. If you are adding an egg yolk, beat it first with a small amount of the warm liquid then add the mixture to the pot and beat it in, add sugar and a combination of spices to taste.
  • For best results, prepare the chocolate drink the night before and refrigerate overnight. Reheat, whipping or frothing the chocolate.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

This recipe was submitted by Parks Canada staff.

 

My Own Take

When I went to buy the ingredients, I was hesitant about the optional egg yolk. I’ve never put egg in hot chocolate before and I know that egg yolk will cook very fast when it hits hot liquid. Omelet in your hot chocolate? Now that’s a complete breakfast lol… Nonetheless, I think I ought to follow through with this recipe if I really want to recreate the 18th century experience.

 

The Ingredients

I made some modification. The milk chocolate bar I used was already sweetened, so I forgo the sugar. I also couldn’t find this so called orange flower water, so I used mandarin peels to give it some citrus-y fragrance.

I like how the recipe doesn’t dictate how much of each spices you are supposed to put in, which is like saying, you don’t have to be confined to a formulatic regime. This is a kitchen where food is enjoy, not a chemistry lab where the wrong move can cause an explosion lol…

Anyways, melting the chocolate in the milk part was pretty straight forward. The big worry was the what would happen to the egg. I excessively beat it to make sure that the yolk had no time to coddle. The end result wasn’t too bad.

beaten- egg- yolk

The Final Reveal…Drum Roll Please 🥁

Hot chocolate #yum

A post shared by human (@one_mammal) on

 

The hot chocolate really was thick, rich and creamy. I think the egg yolk gave it a bit of texture. I am glad I did not put any sugar in it. The vanilla extract my friend got me was naturally sweet already. The aroma of the spices fill our nostrils as we sip it slowly, watching the snow fall outside the window…Bliss~~~~~~

 

Author:

A pet mama new to the world of social media. Figuring out how to make a website as I go, talking excessively about my pets that probably fascinates me but bores everyone else ; P

Leave a Reply

