Posted in Review

Maybelline Great Lash (Waterproof)- Review

When it comes to mascara, I don’t ask it to have specific function like curling, lengthening or volumizing. I don’t care about any newly improved bristles. I don’t need any specific brand with mission statement to save the earth, use recycled package, or be chemical free.

My one and only criteria- Smudge free

I have long been puzzled by my ability to get racoon eyes despite using waterproof mascara. It doesn’t matter if I teared up or not. Most mascara cannot wait to leave my eyelashes and darken my lower lids.

It turns out the culprit is sebum (plus or minus any moisturizer or foundation I might have).

I’ve tried lash extension. While this eliminated the need to apply mascara, it was pretty expensive and I felt my eyelids had to work extra hard to stay open 😅. The lash glue did not play well with any oil- based skin product, which meant I couldn’t use some home-made essential oil products.

I’ve left my lashes alone for the past year or so. Last week I decided that enough is enough- I want to feel girly damn it! So I googled best smudge free mascara but alas, Google thinks smudge-free= waterproof and I was taken to a few pages on waterproof mascaras, some of which also swore that they were smudge proof. So I ventured out and bought Maybelline’s Great Lash Waterproof formula.

maybelline-new-york-great-lash-waterproof

The reviews I read lauded how this mascara had been around for a long time. Despite its cheap looking design, I figured that if it had longevity it must have been a good product to stick around amidst the newer, fancier sounding formulas.

I applied this mascara last night and was immediately impressed with how light the formula felt. It was also very build-able, making my lashes longer. I was further impressed that my lashes stayed curled after 10 minutes- Yes my lashes usually go straight after 10 minutes of eyelash curler and mascara application. I felt like a million bucks when I left for a party.

All fair tales do come to an end… when midnight struck and I saw myself in the mirror, my old nemeses had shown their ugly faces. I didn’t want to believe it but there they were, two unmistakable dark rings under my eyes. I wiped them off and headed back to the party. The lashes still stayed curled and long though.

It’s such a shame. I liked the way my lashes look with this. Back to the drawing board. I hope the drugstore will be able to give me a refund.

I still think this is a good mascara for people who don’t have oily skin around their eyes. For me, however, the search continues…

 

 

 

 

Author:

A pet mama new to the world of social media. Figuring out how to make a website as I go, talking excessively about my pets that probably fascinates me but bores everyone else ; P

One thought on “Maybelline Great Lash (Waterproof)- Review

Leave a Reply

