Posted in Review

Pixi Natural Brow Duo- Review

I must say it was Pixi’s display in Shopper’s Drug Mart that caught my eyes. Its pale green packaging looked soothing and invoked a feel good sense that comes with many of the brands focusing on the market of natural or organic beauty products. While I do prefer to use products with readable ingredient lists, one can’t help but wonder if we are all just willing participants of the clever marketing?

Anyways, personal musing aside, this brow duo is okay enough to keep but I doubt I’d buy it again. Here are my thoughts:

I like its simplistic design with the pencil on one side and brow gel on the other. There is no strong fragrance which I always like. The transparent tube allows you to see the colour (more on that later) and you will be able to know when it’s running low. Honestly though, brow products don’t really get used up that fast… or is it just me? 🤔

So here is the close up of the pencil

pixi-natural-brow-duo

I was intrigued by the choice of this elongated triangular shape and I quickly found out that I do not like it. It was not easy to control how your strokes would turn out and it could easily made your brow look too thick. Not one for fine-tuning. I had to experiment holding the pencil in different positions and still needing Q- tips to clean up.

The colour goes on smoothly and blends naturally with my brow so it’s a shame about the design.

Now onto the brow gel

pixi-natural-eyebrow-duo

The brow gel is basically a mini- mascara for the eye brow. From the outside the colour of the gel appear to be the same as the pencil, but when you apply it it was actually almost transparent.

pixi-natural-eyebrow-duo
Colour of Pixi Brow Duo side by side

The problem is that the brow gel gave my brow an unrealistic, shiny plastick-y feel once it dried. While the brush did help to smooth out the hair and make the brow look neater, I felt that I could easily do without the gel.

So there you have it. I am keeping this for its pencil’s natural colour, but I am sure there will be other products which are easier to apply.

 

Author:

A pet mama new to the world of social media. Figuring out how to make a website as I go, talking excessively about my pets that probably fascinates me but bores everyone else ; P

Leave a Reply

